RSS

Go, Go, Go….Away

13 Jul

Pre-James I used to hang out with friends who had kids who watched shows like, Dora, and Barney, which was like arriving on another planet with a broken translator.  I know kids’ brains work differently, and programming is designed for them. But, Barney is creepy, Dora shouts, and doesn’t that normally scare the animals.  Teletubbies are just freaky, but oh gosh the horror that is the Wiggles…..seriouly the seventh circle.   Matter-o-fact I’d rather listen to Dora shout in the seventh circle then ever watch the Wiggles again. 

I was lucky though, James has always had a strong aversion to anything deemed babyish, except for Handy Many and Bob the Builder, because they build things…with manly tools. He won’t watch Imagination Movers anymore because babies were at the live concert, and that just wouldn’t do for someone so advanced in years and mature.

We never watched Barney or, the Wiggles.  I frequently congratulated my lucky self, feeling like I’d dodged a purple, red, blue, and yellow bullet.  That lucky streak came to and end, when James stumbled across The Power Rangers on Netflix. 

Why-oh-why does he have to like the Power Rangers?  Worst Show Ever!  But so help me James loves everything about the Power Rangers: they work as a team, they use martial arts, there’s weird monsters, they transform, and best of all are cool teenagers. 

Halp….white flag…waving…fluttering pitifully…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2011 in Ramblings

 

2 responses to “Go, Go, Go….Away

  1. Jennifer

    July 14, 2011 at 6:01 am

    I’ve heard that the Power Rangers is a powerful addiction. But be glad. It could be Yo Gabba Gabba.

    And also? This is why I only let my kids watch Disney, or at least mostly. Their shows are not nearly as annoying as the ones on some of the other channels.

    Like

     
  2. Casey

    July 17, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Ahh, Power Rangers! We haven’t gone down that road yet. My kids would be the same way, if they saw babies watching any of the same shows, it would be off of their lineup.

    I HATE Dora, especially when I’m half awake since it forces the kids to scream. Does she have to say “LOUDER”? Like the little B is purposely torturing parents.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
