RSS

I Like Being Neat

23 Jun

Pre-kid I was a bit of a neat-nic, but satisfying that desire has become something of a lost cause post-kid.  I carry small purses, they prevent the building up of non-essentials.  Too much stuff in the purse means that I inevitably can’t find what I’m looking for under all the junk.  I have,er…had,  a six items per purse carrying limit.  The sacred six included, wallet, keys, work ID badge, cell, lip balm, check book.

But now I find things in the bottom of my purse and sometimes don’t know how they got there or even what they are.  If you look in my purse today you will find the six and more.

1.  Wallet, cards no longer in the order I left them previously.

2.  Cell phone covered sticky smudges.  I swear someone loves it so much that he is licking it.

3.  Keys. Whew, ’cause up until a moment ago I couldn’t remember that I had left them in my purse and was frantically searching for them.

4. Check book. Strangely the check book is free of smudges and isn’t sticky.  James hasn’t figured out what the purpose is yet and it doesn’t spark the imagination as much as the phone and wallet do.

5. Badge.  The badge was fun for about a minute, and now gets completely ignored.

6. Lip balm.  I recently switched to petroleum free Alba in vanilla flavor.  Now I have lips that don’t look like they’ve been through a cheese grater. Yay for me!

7. Empty mint container.  Now  I’m, up over the six item limit and mints could weigh me down dangerously, but they are a necessity for a certain small person who lately has become very concerned about the quality of his breath.  The fresh breath is for all the ladies I presume.

But what in the heck is all this???

8. Used teddy bear sticker, at least that’s what I think it is, and I have no idea why it is in my purse or why it is necessary to keep it.  My last attemp to throw it away resulted in a flurry of tears.  Maybe I’ll wait until James isn’t looking next time.

9.  Four Cheerios

10.  Sucker that is so old it is leaking whatever it is that suckers leak, probably hydrolyzed high-fructose corn- syrup.

11.  Purple things in a ziplock bag.  No I’m not trafficking pop rocks.  Those are onion seeds that were offered free of charge at the Children’s museum.  James thought that planting them would be Won.Der.Ful.  The idea became far less enchanting when I read the fine print on the instructions that the museum helfully included.  The purple stuff is toxic fungicide.  Protection must be worn when the seeds are planted.  Good planning children’s museum, really….

12.  What you can’t see under the onion seeds is a rock.  I have no idea…

13.  Also under the onion seeds is dirt.  Yep dirt in my Kate Spade.  What is the world coming to.

Maybe I should take a hint from the airlines and start charging a purse overage handling fee?

 
21 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2011 in Ramblings

 

21 responses to “I Like Being Neat

  1. Caren with a "C"

    June 30, 2011 at 12:58 am

    Happy SITS Day! My purse is full of receipts! I have occasionally found a sandwich ziplock bag with a moldy waffle in it; stashed there by a child.

    Like

     
  2. Lynn from For Love or Funny

    June 30, 2011 at 2:49 am

    LOL! Love your quip about the onion seeds! Have a wonderful day making new friends from SITS!

    Like

     
  3. Sorta Southern Single Mom

    June 30, 2011 at 3:01 am

    Happy SITS Day! Sounds just like my purse…despite weekly clean-outs, I always lose the clutter battle in the purse!

    Like

     
  4. Making It Work Mom

    June 30, 2011 at 3:42 am

    Happy SITS Day! I can’t even explain the contents of my purse (hangs head in shame)

    Like

     
  5. LisaDay

    June 30, 2011 at 4:16 am

    Toxic seeds? Remind me not to go to that museum.

    Happy SITS day.

    LIsaDay

    Like

     
  6. Karen@WaistingTime

    June 30, 2011 at 4:25 am

    Happy SITS day! I love to be neat; loathe clutter. Unfortunately I live with a husband who is a major clutterer. But my youngest son, who leaves a trail in his wake, will be off to college this fall so a bit more neatness is in my future. BTW – he is 18 and yet I still have baby nail clippers rattling around in MY purse.

    Like

     
  7. Jennifer

    June 30, 2011 at 4:35 am

    HA! Well, I can’t say that I’ve ever been NEAT, but I’ve found things in my purse lately and I’m like . . . What the . . ? How did an empty gummie wrapper get in there? Or an open sharpie. Or a wad of gum. Yeah . . . LOL.

    Happy SITs Day!!

    Like

     
  8. malia

    June 30, 2011 at 4:47 am

    LOL Great post… I call myself the keeper of everything… from my kid’s toys and old snacks to my husband’s sun glasses… it all ends up in THE PURSE. Ugh! Newest follower from SITS… Malia

    Like

     
  9. lbddiariesl

    June 30, 2011 at 4:57 am

    I started carrying ziplock baggies just to keep track of whatever it was alpha Son thought he just had to have, keep, save, eat later, etc. Love the FOUR Cheerios! I used to always have half a bananna. Why? Because my mom always said “quiet food” was necessary for church… good grief! Happy, happy SITS day – may you meet many new e-friends today!

    Like

     
  10. Susie's Homemade

    June 30, 2011 at 5:01 am

    Congratulations on your SITs feature! I hope you enjoy your day in the sun:-)

    Like

     
  11. Barbara

    June 30, 2011 at 5:57 am

    Happy SITS day! Congrats! Don’t worry, your son will figure out soon enough how fun it is to tear the paper out of the checkbook! That will be a fun surprise!

    Like

     
  12. almostsinglemom

    June 30, 2011 at 6:35 am

    have a great sits day!

    Like

     
  13. The BabbyMama

    June 30, 2011 at 6:50 am

    My purse also has to double as a diaper bag, so it makes more sense to keep it stocked and that means WAY more than 6 items at any one time.

    Like

     
  14. The BabbyMama

    June 30, 2011 at 6:51 am

    Oh, P.S. HAPPY SITS DAY 🙂

    Like

     
  15. Beverly

    June 30, 2011 at 6:54 am

    happy sits day, looks like you have a wonderful blog.

    Like

     
  16. Carrie

    June 30, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Hahaha my purse is a mess too! Happy SITS day!

    Like

     
  17. Missy | The Literal Mom

    June 30, 2011 at 7:12 am

    Hope you had a Happy SITS day! I’m a new follower.

    Like

     
  18. alexandra roman

    June 30, 2011 at 7:25 am

    Happy Sits day! I feel you, sometimes my purse looks like that. U try to teach mythree year old that you dont touch mommys purse, but since I carry his things in ut he argues that it is his baby bag. Lol!

    Like

     
  19. Melissa @ Completely Eclipsed

    June 30, 2011 at 8:44 am

    The other day I found a half sucked on Halls in the bottom of my Michael Kors. I can’t imagine how it got there, nor do I want too. I can also find gas receipts from 2001 for my husband’s car. Why do we even buy nice things? They’ll just wind up cluttered, dirty, or sticky!

    Have a great SITS day!

    Like

     
  20. Deidre

    June 30, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Happy SITS. Absolutely loved this post. I am one of those people who doesn’t keep a lot in their purse too – I don’t have kids, that went without saying, no?

    Like

     
  21. Lindsay

    July 4, 2011 at 12:26 am

    This is hilarious! What a random list of things in your bag. Yay for you for avoiding the cheese grater lips though!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
