RSS

Milestones and a Fail

06 Jun
Milestones and a Fail

I haven’t blogged much recently because we’ve been so busy.  Life has turned into a blur of random stuff with no time left over for fun stuff.  But there have been lots of recent kid “firsts” requiring documentation ’cause baby brain fade (which never goes away by the way) only gets worse with age.

Loose Tooth.  By loose, I mean barely jiggling, but someone is very excited and impatient for the Tooth Fairy to arrive.  I remember the days when a quarter under the pillow was a huge deal.   I need to do some digging around to see what the going rate for a slightly used tooth is.

First Hair Brushing.  James has been watching his dad do it, so naturally he had to give it a whirl, which is how his hair looked when he was done.  I know how this sounds, but don’t call CPS just yet.  We regularly wash James’s hair, but we’ve never had to brush it, it never tangles, his scalp doesn’t get flaky.  If it needs styling, I just run my fingers through it and voila, done!  His hair also eats style.  In the picture below, his hair was spiked in the morning, by lunch it was hard to tell that anything had been done to it.

  

Sleepover.  These are nothing new, but this time James had TWO friends sleep over a boy (G) and girl (S)…at the same time.  When I was little, I don’t think I ever slept over with a boy.  Well that came much later, only when I was a grown up, I was a saint I swear.  Ahem.  We want James to have a good mix of friends, boys and girls.  Since he hasn’t gotten all silly about girls we decided it just wasn’t an issue.  This won’t go on forever, but it will be kind of sad when it ends, innocence lost and all that.

The three of them played so well together inside and out.  They built a fort (James called it a forch) under the dining room table and pretended to be wolves for hours. They howled, and snarled, there was clawing and sniffing, fights for alpha male or female.  I drew the line when someone started licking my foot.  When that got boring, the morphed into a tribe of zombies.  There were good and bad zombies, a very slow war complete with limbs falling off.  S very helpfully put parts back on with a drill.  She solemnly told the boys that if she touched them with the drill, “they were screwed.” 

Bedtime.  Speaking of sleeping….James, when asked only once, got himself ready for bed, teeth brushed, PJs put on, then wait for it….put himself to bed.  As in, gave us hugs and kisses, then marched himself down to his bed and put himself in it.  The ritual usually involves me walking him through it all, then, his hand in mine, taking him down to his bedroom, and tucking him in.  But tonight we cut a deal, he got to stay up an extra 30 minutes if he got ready first, then when his time was up, put himself to bed.  I don’t know if I’m emotionally ready to do this every night, bedtime is an important ritual because our time after work is so limited.

School.  He hasn’t started Kindergarten yet, but he’s registered.  In a few short months my baby will be going to elementary school. He’s been in daycare since he was 3 months old, so going this shouldn’t be such a big deal. But it is all happening too fast.  When we toured the school, I saw older kids, maybe in 6th grade getting ready for school.  They seemed huge, and I instantly was terrified, I didn’t want my baby anywhere near these hulking….sputter….adults!

Growth.  He grew 1 inch in a month.  He’s grown quickly before but never like this.  I knew something was up when we started going through a gallon of milk per week and he was asking for thirds and fourths.  By some household standards that might not seem like much, but in our house that is out of control!  He also said his bones were hurting, again with the signs.

Uh oh- I hear crying……

(15 minutes later)

All that simultaneous crowing and mooing about how grown up my boy was becoming was a bit premature.  While he did get into bed, and had turned on his music by himself it was a sham.  I found him, face bright red, tears streaming down his cheeks, nose totally plugged up, and face puffy from crying.  When I asked him what was wrong he told me that he was upset, “because everyone was gone,” and he couldn’t sleep, and he was, “all ALOOOONE!” 

He needed a hug, snuggling, and a lot of reassurance that he wasn’t alone in the house, that we would never, ever do that not ever, for real.  I told him that he didn’t have to go to bed by himself every night, that I just wanted him to try because this was part of becoming a big boy.  I also told him that he could tell me when he was ready to try going to bed on his own.  He gave this a moment of thought and replied, “when I’m a teenager.”  Then he asked to have both his bedroom lights turned on.  

FAIL!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in Doin', Kid Speak, Ramblings

 

4 responses to “Milestones and a Fail

  1. Casey

    June 10, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Aww, poor sad boy. Just as I was committing the idea to memory (our bedtimes are LONG and drawn out every night, would be awesome to have them put themselves to bed once in awhile). I raced BMX growing up and our family and another BMX family (who had 3 boys) used to spend weekends at each other’s houses all the time. So sleepovers were kind of ok with boys but only with that one particular family. Anybody else woulda been weird.

    Yay for kindergarten!

    Like

     
  2. Lizgizzy

    June 13, 2011 at 8:49 am

    The bedtime routine is so darn long. And since that night he’s regressed- no more showers anymore either. Anything that seems big boyish is out the window. I seem to be able to get him to put his PJs on and brush his teeth on his own, but he wants to sunggle then needs multiple hugs and kisses- it just takes forever. Sigh.

    Like

     
  3. Captain Dumbass

    June 13, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Gah, bedtime. Some days it feels like I spent less time at work than just trying to get the monkeys in bed.

    Like

     
    • Lizgizzy

      June 13, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Monkeys, demons, gah, I coudln’t agree more.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
