RSS

Bitter Sweet

23 Mar

RTT is so awesome, I’m deciding to continue the randomness. 

This is for my friend M who likes James’ art – this is my favorite from this week’s selection. M- I miss you.  I think I’m going to start posting weekly James art just for you. 

The sun was out today, and it felt de.lic.ious.  I had to close the blinds in my office so that I could see my monitor which was just wrong.

The baby talk took a bitter-sweet turn tonight. 

J:  Mom?
M: Yes baby.
J:  Can I have a baby sister?
M:  gently No baby
J:  But why?
M: I don’t have the right parts anymore.
J:  Why?
M:  Remember when I had surgery?  The doctor took some of the parts out that I need to have a baby.
J:  clearly confused……….Well….um…can’t you just buy new parts at the store?
M:  No sweety, I can’t buy new parts.
J:  So I’m not going to have a baby sister?
M:  No, honey
J:  But Mom…..hitching sob….I’m going to be so loooooooonnnnnnnely.

James’ face crumpled and enormous tears rolled down his cheeks.

I gathered him in my arms and held him tight, because he is right.  And he’s figuring it out much earlier than I did. I wish he wasn’t so smart.

Sigh

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2011 in Kid Speak

 

4 responses to “Bitter Sweet

  1. Captain Dumbass

    March 28, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Aw. Some days I’d be happy to give him a couple brothers, but Supreme Leader is missing those parts as well. Puppy?

    Like

     
  2. lizgizzy

    March 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Meh- we work all the time, a dog would be terribly lonely. I just hope that this is a phase that he will grow out of.

    Send the boys down for a roadtrip- we’ll take for a weekend, introduce them to coffee, a few of the local bars…ha ha.

    Like

     
  3. mrsmouthy

    March 28, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Ohhhhhhh. That does break a mama’s heart. Fortunately, for kids, it’s probably like asking for a second scoop of ice cream and being told “no.” He will find many “sisters” in his life.

    Like

     
  4. allstarme

    March 29, 2011 at 6:37 am

    Yeah that would totally make me cry if my son said that. 😦

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
