RSS

Snow Day Part Tres

26 Feb

This is the sight that greeted us Friday morning. The sun on the snow was so beautiful, but oh my gosh was it cold. Our lovely semi-feral kitties obviously doesn’t appreciate the snow or the cold because one of them peed on the front porch.  We had to tell James not to eat the yellow snow, something I’ve never said in real life before.  

Last night was American Idol night – the theme was The Beatles.  James was really curious about exactly who the Beattles were.  Here’s how our little chat went:

J:  Mom, what are they doing?
M:  They are going to sing Beattles songs on the Cirque Du Soleil set.
J:  Will they be the…the um…Circle Doo LA?
M: No, they are just going to sing Beattle’s songs on the set.
J:  Oh.  What is the Beattles?
M:  (feeling really old) They were a band that was popular when I was your age.
J:  Back in the 1690s?
M:  (Dying inside a little)  Baby, I think you mean the 1960’s, right?
J:  No, the 1690s or maybe 1468.

James took his first Aikido class this week.  I think it is going to be a good mix of: learnining, practicing politeness, having to pay attention, physicality, self-defense, and confidence building.  All James really cared about was when he was going to get the white pants and the belt, he’d prefer the black one right now.  All I cared about was that the teacher taught them about running away from strangers that ask for help because adults don’t ask kids for help.  He also had to practice breaking holds and shouting no at the same time.  Now if he could just do that without smiling so sweetly.

We’ve been implementing some new rules around the house such as placing limits on TV and X-Box playing.  James is involved and helps decide what is fair.  He’s usually much more strict than we would be.  For example,  when I suggested 30 minutes of kid TV per night, he said “no, howsbout 2…no….um…4 minutes?”  At least he is starting to negotiate in his own favor a little.

We are also trying to be more consistent about bedtime.  After I had finished reading him his story, and had tucked him into bed, he told me, “Mom, we need renegotiate the whole bedtime rule thingy.  We should all go to bed at the same time an inda same bed.”  I told him that going to bed in his own bed was an important part of growing up and being independent.  His response? “Mom, let’s discuss it with Dad as a family inda mornin.”  Lucky for me…he forgot.  Ha!

My blog has been going through a bit of an identity crisis.  I got bored a few weeks back, and decided to change-up the look and feel, but am to cheep to pay for a theme, and have been trying out various looks offered for free by WordPress.  I thought I’d found one that I liked last week but it wasn’t warm and fuzzy enough for me.  I’m trying a new theme called Choco – let me know what you think.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2011 in Kid Speak, Ramblings

 

2 responses to “Snow Day Part Tres

  1. Casey

    March 1, 2011 at 8:07 am

    I like the brown background. I haven’t redone my theme, ever. I probably should since it hurts people’s eyes.

    Ha, don’t eat yellow snow. I love when we say stuff like that, I told Elliot not to run with scissors the other day (she was literally running with scissors) and it felt weird to say…

    Like

     
  2. Lizgizzy

    March 1, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Oh gosh running with scissors- that’s scarry.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
