RSS

Hack, Cough and Other Random Stuff

23 Jan

The good news is the pneumonia is gone.  The bad news is I spent 4 hours in the emergency room finding out that they aren’t sure why I’m still coughing.  It could be mono, a fungal infection, or whooping-cough but, I won’t know until the tests come back. 

And why is whooping-cough on the list?  Because more children are getting whooping-cough and giving it to adults.  Why might this be?  According to the doctor whooping-cough and other communicable diseases are on the rise, because of an increased number of parents choosing not to immunize their children, hoping to avoid autism. 

I’ve seen several reports that debunk the theory that immunizations are leading to an increase in autism.  All I can say about that is James, all his relatives, and our friends kids have had all their immunizations and shows no sign of having autism.  And that is not a trend it doesn’t say much, I know that.  But, I’m also pretty pissed that I could bring a highly contagious illness into our home because someone else that I’ve been around might have been in contact with a child that hasn’t been immunized. 

On a less pissed off note, I was so stir crazy from staying quiet that I forced Tim to take us out to breakfast.  Afterwards, we took James to the park so that he could blow off some steam.  It was overcast and wet, but it was so nice to be out in fresh air for a few minutes.  It was pretty chilly too, and James couldn’t be strong-armed into wearing a coat.  But we did get him to wear Tim’s for a few seconds.  From the look on Jame’s face he thinks he’s won some sort of victory.

I took this picture with my Windows Phone 7.  Not too shabby.  I love my phone.

James has been attached to his Lego’s all weekend.  He builds for a while then spends hours talking to his Lego’s.  He stages big fights then lectures his creations about how bad it is to fight.   Two Lego people were briefly involved in a hot and heavy romance, I love you has been thrown around a lot.  But, it was a star-crossed love, after a brief argument over who deserved a snack more, the pair were eaten by a fierce dragon.  Here are a few of his creations.

A really long truck

 

A Picassoesque horse.  We went to the exhibit at Seattle Art Museum a few weeks ago and it has had a lasting influence.

A pole of spinny people. Spinny not spiny.

James is yawning, though he says that it isn’t because he is tired, it is because he is hungry.  So, I’m off to fix some dinner. 

Enjoy the remaining hours of your Sunday internet! 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in Doin'

 

3 responses to “Hack, Cough and Other Random Stuff

  1. Jodi

    January 24, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I am so sorry that you are sick, and hope that you begin to feel better soon. Seems like you’ve been unwell for a long time now.

    Good news: You can stop being mad at people who don’t vaccinate their kids. It would be merited if you had the measles, but not if it’s pertussis. I asked my doctor about this today because there are a significant number of pertussis cases in western Montana now. (And that’s why Cedar got his fourth DTaP today today.)

    She says that the vaccine isn’t that effective–about 85%–and that we give it to infants because pertussis kills. It doesn’t confer lifelong immunity like the polio vaccine. If an infant is sick, they’re hospitalized and can’t transmit. And the reason that they’re vulnerable is that it’s just around all the time. Adults who get it aren’t usually that symptomatic, and it’s very common among college students.

    So don’t be mad, but do REST and get better!

    Like

     
  2. mrsmouthy

    January 26, 2011 at 8:22 am

    James talks to his Legos the way I talk to Vincenzo’s Legos.

    As for your vaccination/autism rant, I’m totally with you. It’s been proven over and over again that the original data was flawed, and last Feb. the organization “fully retract[ed] this paper from the published record.” It’s a damn good thing because kids have died because of that paper. DIED. It makes me sick thinking about it.

    Like

     
  3. Captain Dumbass

    January 27, 2011 at 11:25 am

    I’ve had a stupid cough since before Christmas and it shows no signs of stopping. That guy who came up with that autism study and doctored his results should be…. ok, I can’t think of what because I haven’t had enough coffee yet but it should be something really bad.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
