RSS

Better?

15 Oct
I have to apologize to friends and family, I just have not been able to get it together this week.  There is so much stuff I’m supposed to be doing: laundry, cleaning, cooking, working, working out, taking care of kid….blah, blah, blah.  I feel like doing none of it.  I coordinated a really huge event last week, and I think it sucked the life out of me.
text
James is showing signs of feeling better;  he asked us if he could show him how many times he could hop on one foot.  The kid has hopping skills, he bounced up and down for a REALLY long time.
text
James asked me recently if I wanted to hop with him, and I turned him down, but not without a brief twinge of guilt.  He responded by saying, “that’s OK Mama, you are brittle in your bones.”
text
I have a new love for the zoo.   Watching his excitement, reminds me of the wonder I felt when I was his age visiting the zoo.  I feel a little less brittle.

The bear is eating a dead rat. I really had a hard time resisting the urge to clamp my hands over James's eyes.

James and otters

This isn't the best picture, but I like the light on his skin

I can't believe it is fall already. The year didn't feel like 12 months, more like 12 minutes, and I'm being generous. James, and his friends S and G

This video really has very little to do with James other than his Mama has a “thing” for meerkats.  Well,  the kid that you can hear yelling really loudly, especially at the end, calling for his Dad, that would be James.  But enough about him, how could you not think meerkats are adorable?  Seriously, they are one of the few wild animals (other than bats) that demonstrate true altruism.  Teenage meerkats babysit their elder’s pups, and….they’re fuzzy, what’s not to like?
 
Update:  James is not better, he still has a fever, has a rash all over including his tongue and tonsils, and private parts.  He has his first case of strep.  Yeah for him.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2010 in Ramblings

 

2 responses to “Better?

  1. unmitigated me (m.a.w.)

    October 16, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Oh! Poor baby. Ah well, it means lots of mama time, right? Who cares about the cleaning!

    Like

     
  2. Pammie

    October 16, 2010 at 8:12 am

    I can’t wait to take my kids to the zoo. I’ve only taken my oldest and that was when I was pregnant with my middle child. Oh gosh, about 10 years ago. Now I got another baby who hasn’t been. I wish the zoo wasn’t in the middle of a big city off an interstate. I need a driver. 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
