RSS

Summer Blogging Blues

03 Aug

I’m ba-ack!  It is also that time again.
randomtuesday

Summer finally arrived in the Pacific Northwest and I lost all desire to spend any time cooped up inside doing well….anything and that includes blogging.  I NEEEEED to feel the sun on my face and the pale glow from my laptop just will not do.

We’ve been busy.  Here’s some of what has been going on.

-I took a break from watching Tim work on the bathroom and did some serious yard cleanup.  We inherited landscaping that at one point must have been glorious, but after a few years of neglect at the hands of the previous owners become rather jungley.  James helped with the weeding by sitting in the shade, sipping juice, and pointing to the weeds that I was missing.  He called it taking a juice break, I called loafing.

-It wasn’t hot or humid enough for me here so I went to Atlanta for a week. I saw the Black Eyed Peas in concert.  I wasn’t terribly hopeful about seeing the Peas live, but I have to say they rocked!

-The people in Atlanta truly know how to do hospitality.  I went shopping at Michael Kors, and had a lovely discussion about vacation destinations, hair length, and the friendliness of those from the Pacific Northwest vs. Atlanta.  At the end of our discussion, my sales person gave me a hug and I only purchased one of the ten pairs of shoes that I tried on.  The South Wins!

-When I returned from Atlanta my girlfriend treated me to a facial and lunch at the spa.  I have a thank-you in the works that will hopefully alleviate some of my guilt.  I was trying to treat her for her birthday and she wouldn’t let me.  She is a great friend.  Not that paying my way is my only qualification for being a great friend…

-We visited our good friends in Canada last weekend.  We didn’t do much more than chat, eat, and nap.  James did “practice his running skills to get strong muscles” by chasing our friend’s dogs around the yard.  The weekend was perfection and I really didn’t want to come home, but here we are.

-Tim had a root canal today.  Good times.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2010 in Doin'

 

6 responses to “Summer Blogging Blues

  1. Pammie

    August 4, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    I know what you mean on the whole summer blogging. It’s hard to stop basking in the sun to peck at the keyboard. The south does rock…until you get involved in the whole redneck drama thing 😉 – Not that I know anything about that kind of thing. I’m originally a Georgia Peach myself. Currently residing in Alabama.

    Like

     
    • lizgizzy

      August 5, 2010 at 9:30 am

      My chiropractor says Seattlites have a bad case of the snits!

      Pammie why did I not know you were a Peach?!

      Like

       
  2. Mary B.

    August 4, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I swear, either Seattle was a lot friendlier when I was a child or I was just too young to notice the meanies!

    Like

     
  3. mrsmouthy

    August 9, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Summer was nice, wasn’t it?

    Hey, I’m really really signing V up for Li’l Kickers in the fall (the REAL fall, not whatever season it is right now). Is James still in it? If so, drop me a line and let me know what day/time and we’ll see if it works for us. rachelabeto@hotmail.com

    Like

     
  4. Gregg

    August 9, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    We should really institute 5-day weekends whenever we come down, or you come up here to visit. At least this time we haven’t had time to wallow in post-visit doldrums with the crowd we’ve had here. Will update you later on how Ralph fares after 3 days as “Ralphy Poppins”!

    Like

     
  5. Gregg

    August 9, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    And hope Tim’s tooth is all better!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
