RSS

WWWS: Have You Ever…

03 Jun

For this week’s writer’s workshop over at Mama Kat’s I chose:  Begin each line of your post with “have you ever”.

Mama's Losin' It

Feeling un-inspired I visited a few other blogs to get a little inspiration.  I visited Kiss a Turtle and got pulled completely off track. 

Kiss a Turtle (wonderful blog by the way) asked “have you ever been asked to sign a 1st grader’s yearbook?”  I’ve been living under a rock clearly, because I had no idea that first graders received yearbooks.  Way, way, in my way back when, year books didn’t start until ninth grade.  

Trying to get back on track now…

Have you ever wondered how you will continue to relate to your child/children as they mature?  The whole first-graders getting year books conundrum, leads me to think that despite all my best efforts to be hip, I’m going to be a very un-cool mom when James is old enough to care.  I grew up in an era when cash-machines, cell phones didn’t exist, and $100K sweet-sixteen parties weren’t in vogue.  James received his first laptop when he was three.  Life is advancing at such a fast pace that I wonder if I’ll understand anything about his world when he is a teenager. 

Have you ever wondered what kind of emotional scarring would be inflicted if you didn’t get your child a year book in the 1st grade?  If James doesn’t receive a yearbook in the 1st grade, will he be an outcast FOREVER or will it build character?  Using the words “building character” may mean that I am becoming my mother (shudder).   Mom sent me to school with one of my eyes swollen shut from an allergic reaction because it would, finger quote, build character, end finger quote.  By the time first period was over my face was twice the original size, and my other eye was well on its way to being swollen shut.  I’ve never forgotten that lesson. 

If James does receive his first yearbook in the 1st grade, that would be a  full 8 years before I received mine.  By that same reasoning, James would lose his virginity in the 2nd grade!  Holy Moly Cow what is the world coming too! 

Have you ever wondered if you wonder too much? Clearly I do.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2010 in Weekly Writer's Workshop

 

5 responses to “WWWS: Have You Ever…

  1. Pammie

    June 4, 2010 at 6:16 am

    I’ve often sat around wondering how old my ways must seem to my own kids. They are the only kids without a cell phone, mind you. Why do little kids need those things anyways? My kids are always with me and they don’t need to sit around texting when they should be outside riding bikes or swimming in the pool. I’ve been the uncool mom for awhile.

    Like

     
  2. Aurora

    June 4, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Very good post. love the last line! we can only wonder so much about the what ifs in life.
    have a great weekend.

    Like

     
  3. kisatrtle

    June 4, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Honored to have inspired your entire post. I didn’t have a yearbook in the 1st grade either and I’m not really sure my son cares about his yearbook at all. I told him to take it to school today and get some people to sign it and he said why would i want to do that?

    Like

     
  4. Jessica

    June 5, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Im not close with my mom and im TERRIFIED that one day I wont be as close with my daughters…Im gonna do everything possible to make sure that doesnt happen!

    Like

     
  5. Gregg

    June 25, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Okay, first off, you *know* that I immediately did the math re: losing your virginity. *ahem* <– non-judgmental throat clearing, I swear it was just phlegm!

    I laughed out loud at your "character building" story. Trust me, I was laughing *with* you. I wasd thinking of my dad telling me to stop being a baby and stop crying after a wooden bench fell on my foot when I was a kid. When he noticed that I still couldn't walk on it the next day, my foot was swollen like a football, and I was still being a baby, that's when we got the x-ray showing two broken bones….

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
