RSS

RTT: Sigh

25 May

I can’t get it together to do a decent opener, but it is random Tuesday after all.

randomtuesday

I don’t get Little Einsteins.   It all seems benign when you read the description…art, adventure, music, team-work, animal rescue, small children and a rocket.  However, one of last week’s episodes featured our heros saving dinosaurs; the featured artist was Andy Warhol,  and I had to do a lot more explaining that I had thought I would.  Here is my side of the discussion…..

“Who was Andy Warhol?  He was an avant-gard artist whose works symolized the decedance of the modern era.  What is avant-gard?  Let’s chat further when you are in college.  Yes, dinosaurs were real.  No you can’t go hunt for them in the woods unless you use your imagination.  Because, they are extinct, that’s why.  Extinct means that they all died a long time ago.   No, we don’t know why they died, but they are gone.  Yes it is sad.  I doubt that if they were alive that a T-Rex wouldn’t let you ride him.  Because T-Rexs are generallyknow to be crabby.  Yes, just like Mommy.  No, when they were alive the didn’t have bodies that were made of musical instruments. I’m fairly certain that a Pteranodon didn’t sound like a piccolo.  BLINK?  (Did I just say that out loud?  Why yes I did.  WTF!)

I was lamenting over on Mrs Mouthy’s that it seems like less than an hour ago I was marveling at how tiny James’s newborn fingernails were.  Now, I’m having discussions about how some things are best done in private.  I don’t want James to feel bad about feeling good if you know what I mean…but damn I didn’t think I’d be talking about THAT so soon.  This was playing in my head as were having our little talk, on the couch, while watching Handy Manny…which seems to make him VERY HAPPY.  

Did you know that there is a scientific term for an un-explained phenomenon that is called….wait for it…. The Bloop?   How did I find out about The Bloop?  Let me lay some knowledge on you….

We took James to the Pacific Science Center this weekend.  He had a fantastic time by the way. We also saw Hubble 3D at IMAX.  If you have kids that are into rockets or astronomy…yank them out of school right this minute to see this movie, it is amazing!  Watching the Space Shuttle launch had me in tears, it was a thing of beauty.

After seeing Hubble 3D, I wanted to see how much artistic license the filmmakers might have taken with some of the images.  I searched NASA’s on-line database; turns out that not much license was taken, unless you believe that the whole space program is one expensive hoax perpetrated by the government.  While I was browsing, I found pictures of The Bloop spectrogram.   Bloop has nothing to do with stars, or Hubble, but the fact that scientists actually named it Bloop had my attention – I has squishy brain and am easily entertained. 

What is The Bloop? It is a sound that was recorded in the ocean on the Eastern Equatorial Pacific autonomous hydrophone array by the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) in 1997.  The sound could be heard over multiple underwater sensors for 3100 miles. That is a really long distance for something that sounds like a cartoon spaceship crash-landing in the ocean in slow motion.  The Bloop is not mechanical, and was so loud that no known sea creature could have made it.  Other instances of the bloop phenomenon were recorded, but haven’t been heard again since 1997.  Is this simply a deep sea vent farting, or a myth?  I have no idea.  

The end!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2010 in Ramblings

 

2 responses to “RTT: Sigh

  1. dusty earth mother

    May 27, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Oh my gosh, I have the EXACT same response to Little Einsteins! Every time my kids watch it, I’m like “huh? okay, that is completely random…”

    Like

     
  2. mrsmouthy

    May 27, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Wow, there is so much I would like to quote from your blog, like about T-rexes being crabby and now teaching James to do some things in private and Lizgizzy, your blog is STILL getting better and better. And I was your first fan! Thanks for the LOLs.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
