RSS

Mother’s Day

09 May

Saturday was my special day.  Tim took James  and a couple of friends to a Sounders game.  I worked out, Tim treated me to a massage, went shoe shopping, then folded laundry…..alone.

Mother’s Day is kind of an odd day for me for a couple of reasons.  First, Tim always asks me what I want to do.  I understand  that he wants the day to be exactly what I want it to be, but a small part of me wants him to just surprise me.  

Being a Mom, at least for me, means making a lot of decisions and then worrying about the consequences, even with little stuff.  What to wear, what to eat, is having fourths too much, when to nap, nap together or alone, are we practicing spelling and numbers enough, am I being to strict, not strict enough, how do I tell him that talking about tiger penises with his friends at school probably isn’t appropriate- agh! STOP!  On this special day, I’d like to not have to make any decisions, or to even think to be honest.  Well, I guess I don’t mind having to decide if those sandals make my butt look fat or not. 

Second, I usually spend Mother’s Day alone.  While not having to worry about anyone else’s needs but my own is lovely, it struck me as odd that I tend to spend this day by myself.  The unsettled feeling deepened as I watched groupings of mothers and daughters, and gaggles of friends sitting together waiting for their spa appointments.   But it is what I chose, and I’m sure this situation isn’t unique. 

Regardless of how you choose to spend your day, Happy Mother’s Day to all you incredible ladies out there!  I’m off to have a squirt gun fight with James….outside…. in the sun….NOWUH!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2010 in Doin'

 

3 responses to “Mother’s Day

  1. dusty earth mother

    May 10, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    yeah, the “alone” thing is a mixed bag, right? I wanted to take a nap desperately on Mother’s day, but I actually felt guilty being away from my kids. Oy…

    Like

     
  2. Andrea

    May 11, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Happy Mother’s Day! Count me in as one who wishes my husband would plan something out and surprise him. I actually had to threaten him to get a gift. HE JUST DOESN’T GET IT.

    And… my son ended up with an ear infection so we spent the day at Urgent Care. Lovely.

    Stopping by from SITS to say hello. Happy Tuesday!

    Like

     
  3. Pammie

    May 11, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I love celebrating my birthday more. There’s no guilt for wanting the house all to myself, not cooking or cleaning, and especially taking a nap alone if I want to.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
