RSS

Real, Honest to God Blather

27 Apr

Go check out Keely over at the Un-Mom, she’s feeling a little blue.  She thought she might be having a ninja, and she’s not.  Give her a bloggy hug.  I know I’m ripping her off a little bit, but I was really sick of saying, today’s post is courtesy of…. 

James is having trouble at night, he gets askerd (envision accompanying tearful hand wringing) and comes upstairs pitifully asking for a hug, ’cause of the ninjas under his bed, or the cats are staring in his window.  The cats are feral and probably do stare into his room  just for spite.  But,  tonight his reason was that the TV was too loud.  The TV is two stories above him- he can’t hear it.   How do you keep your little one’s in bed when they’ve discovered the joy of cuddling with Mommy and Daddy in the big bed?  

James went to his very first concert a couple of weekends ago, and I don’t mean Imagination Movers or the Wiggles.  He sat through 2 hours of classical guitar and did great, until one of the quartet introduced a piece that was an homage to rain, a gentile spring rain, a storm, with even a little hail thrown in for good measure.  Suddenly, he had to go to the bathroom.  

Week before last, I worked out 5 times, last week 4, and twice so far this week and I’ve been super careful about what I eat.   I’m now 5 pounds away from being the weight I was when I delivered James- a few weeks back I was 10 pounds away.  I know I have to keep at it, but this sucks.  I’ve been seeing a lot of ads for plastic surgery and I’m starting to understand the appeal.

randomtuesday

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2010 in Ramblings

 

5 responses to “Real, Honest to God Blather

  1. Casey

    April 28, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Wow, you’re really kicking butt with this diet/exercise stuff! Only five more pounds to go is nothing.

    I don’t know what to tell you about the sleep situation. Neither of my kids sleep anymore, it’s horrible.

    Like

     
  2. Pammie

    April 28, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    It doesn’t make sense that kids are expected to sleep alone, but adults sleep together. When I was a young girl, I wanted to have my siblings sleep near me. Now that I am all grown up, I wish I had my big bed to myself. Sometimes civilized people have things backward.

    Like

     
  3. lizgizzy

    April 28, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Casey- Being 5 pounds away from the weight I was when I delivered James is REALLY bad. But thanks for the support either way.

    Pammie- I really have a tough time explaining why he has to sleep alone. It breaks my heart when he tells me that he doesn’t want to be alone.

    Like

     
  4. mrsmouthy

    April 30, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    You make me laugh. Not about the weight part; the guitar part.

    I clicked on the un-mom’s link but it didn’t seem to work…can you repost it por favor?

    Like

     
  5. dusty earth mother

    May 2, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Wow, your kid really takes things in deeply. Love that a mere song about rain made him have to pee 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
