RSS

Rain, Rain Go Away

27 Apr

This was supposed to be Monday’s post, so here…

Summer is taking its sweet time getting here.  I voluntarily live in the Pacific Northwest so I shouldn’t bitch;  it is a little like buying a house on a flood plain because it was cheap and then complaining when the house floats away.  But, I woke up this morning, to sunshine streaming through my bedroom window and the sound of birds calling in the woods.  The trees are budding with a green that is so vivid that it is almost neon.  Spring was in the air, or was for all of a nano-second. 

I dressed in short sleeves and put James in shorts thinking today would be lovely.  Now, I’m watching the rain come down and dreading the disapproving glares I’m going to receive from James’s pre-school teacher for dressing him SO inappropriately.  She’d probably shoot daggers if she knew what I let James watch this weekend.  Do I earn Mom points for making my kid happy by letting him watch one of the more spectacular chase scenes in The Dark Knight, or do I lose them for watching even the tiniest parts of  The Dark Knight? 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2010 in Doin'

 

3 responses to “Rain, Rain Go Away

  1. JenN

    April 28, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I hear ya. I used to live in Seattle and it was a long wait until the July-Sept. perfection. Better than two feet of snow the last week of April, like they have in NY. (Am I really commenting on the weather? Wow. I need to get back to work.)

    Like

     
  2. lizgizzy

    April 28, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    I know I just realized that I blogged about the weather, how sad is that.

    Like

     
  3. mrsmouthy

    April 30, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    I’m right with ya, girl. I’m SO SICK of being cold and damp. I totally got back at the weather today, though, by wearing my winter fleece and wool socks all day and lighting candles. Boo-yah, spring. Take THAT.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
