RSS

Weekly Writer’s Workshop

11 Mar

Dearest Liz-
I haven’t written a haiku since I was in the sixth grade, which was as you know, many moons ago.  The following poems represent what I love about an oridinary day.

Child in my arms;
Hair like autumn fire
Skin of winter’s chill

Bread in the oven-
Laundry on the line
Clean smells waft -I read

Brush in hand
Paint flows on canvas
Images form

I could fill a never-ending book with the things that I love about an oridinary day.  I’m content, I’m whole, I do as I please, when I please, but still….

Your father seems to be doing well.  His travels have taken him far this time I see. Thankfully he’s home safe.

James is growing like a weed, and my goodness he talks. You were always such a quiet child, so independent.  James is neither; where could this have come from do you suppose?  At least he is polite.  Keeping him in shoes must be a trial. Thank god, he seems to be showing some artistic talent, you waste yours,  you know.  But still it must be in the genes.  He did a good job at soccer today, I love watching him run.

To merely observe is not enough, I wish I could be there in more than just spirit. I want to have adult conversations with my grandchild, but that will just have to wait.

Hugs

Mom

This post comes courtesy of Mama Kat. The prompts were number 1 and 3.  I picked them because I wanted to step out my comfort zone.

Mama's Losin' It

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2010 in Weekly Writer's Workshop

 

5 responses to “Weekly Writer’s Workshop

  1. dusty earth mother

    March 11, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    That was really lovely. Visiting from MamaKat’s…

    Like

     
  2. Farmers Wife

    March 12, 2010 at 3:59 am

    Your poetry was beautiful, simple and elegant. I love your day!

    Like

     
  3. Aleta

    March 12, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Beautiful poem, but even more so…. beautiful letter. Loving and treasuring your Mom’s love ~ beautiful.

    Like

     
  4. Lisa Anne

    March 12, 2010 at 8:58 am

    It’s pretty. Sheesh I don’t even ever remember writing one. LOL

    Like

     
  5. Trippin' Mama

    March 12, 2010 at 10:42 am

    You put my efforts to shame. And I love the combination of the two prompts. Well done!

    Christy

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
