RSS

Cat Food

25 Feb

We’ve been working crazy hours this week.  We scream home as fast as we can so that we can try to give James some quality time, before getting back to work, then squeeze in some sleep.   The cats are bearing the burden of our inability to effectively work-life balance. 

We got a little low on cat food earlier in the week, and I couldn’t get it together enough to remember to buy them food.  Naturally, they ran out of food completely.  I gave them deli-sliced turkey thinking that they’d fall all over themselves with gratitude for getting such a nice treat.  They gave me very confused looks, pushed the meat around without eating it, then stomped huffily away.  Later in the evening I saw them hunting moths out of desperation.  They took breaks to cast murderous glares through the front window.

Naturally, Boy and Girl Cat (they’ve been renamed again) were ravenously hungry the next morning.   More turkey was not in order so I thought that something that resembled cat food more closely might go over better.  Something cat-bite sized and crunchy perhaps?  Well take note everyone, cats do not, I repeat, DO NOT like Cheerios.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Cat Food

  1. steenky bee

    February 26, 2010 at 8:24 am

    My kitties do the same thing. I’m thinking I’ll be their best friend with some fresh meat and they stare at me and plot my murder while I sleep. The tubby one? Oh, she’s got it out for me.

    Like

     
  2. Jodi

    February 26, 2010 at 9:24 am

    oscar likes popcorn, flaky cereal, and corn chips. cheerios were a nice try. tuna?

    Like

     
  3. Lizgizzy

    February 26, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Steenky- aren’t cats wonderful, so loving, so thankful for what they get?

    Jodi- most cats are wierd, but Oscar? wow. Tuna hasn’t been a big hit in our house yet, so no tuna. I did find a really old can of chicken, I should have tried that.

    Like

     
  4. Captain Dumbass

    February 26, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    That sounds pretty ungrateful to me.

    Like

     
  5. Pammie

    February 28, 2010 at 8:39 am

    We have no pets, but we do feed a cat who thinks we are his owners. Sometimes I think I’ll stop feeding him so he’ll go away, but then he beats up the dog next door and I’ll rummage the pantry for something he might like. I have yet to find anything that the cat won’t eat. I guess being a “homeless” cat makes you more willing to eat what you can get. (Beggars can’t be choosy.)

    Like

     
  6. mrsmouthy

    February 28, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Look at you with 5 other-people responses! Feels good, doesn’t it?! Your blog is getting better and better–I’m glad I followed you when you were still small 🙂

    Like

     
    • lizgizzy

      March 1, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Wow- I had visitors this weekend and I didn’t even have to set up the spare bedroom.

      Mrs Mouthy- yes it does feel good, maybe someday my site will be as good as yours.

      Pammie- our cats are technically homeless. They were born wild, and you’d think that they’d take what they can get, but darn them if they aren’t getting picky. Beggars can be choosers

      Captain- yes I think they are very ungrateful.

      Like

       
  7. stu pidasso

    March 1, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    but moths do….so you are helping the felines anyway. This was funny.

    Like

     
    • lizgizzy

      March 1, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      Thanks!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
