RSS

Mad Mom Face

01 Feb

I haven’t been feeling super good the past few days.  I was hoping to get a lot of rest over the weekend.  But perhaps my expectations were a little out of line, considering that I have a four-year-old.  I mean, what was I thinking?

I was hoping that I could take a nap or two, but no, James just wouldn’t…stop…talking!  He hasn’t taken a real nap in a while, but since Mom is old and needs mental and physical breaks, he has quiet time in his room for at least an hour most afternoons.  He can have music, a toy, books to look at, whatever…he just has to settle down. 

This weekend, James decided that quiet time meant laying in his bed and yelling “Mama, I’m awake, when is nap done” over, and over, at the top of his lungs.  I tried to tough it out, hoping that he’d give it up,  After he started slamming dresser drawers along with yelling, I gave it up.   

I know I was giving in and therefore re-enforcing some crappy behaviour.  But 45 flippin’ minutes….yerg!  He took one look at my face when I opened his bedroom door and burst in to tears, and asked to visit Daddy in the shop.  I didn’t think I looked that pissed.  Sigh….

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 1, 2010 in Doin'

 

One response to “Mad Mom Face

  1. mrsmouthy

    February 2, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better! Don’t give up on quiet time. Vincenzo gave up naps for a month or two but I just pretended like he was still taking them and he’s been back to napping for the past few months. Maybe James will follow suit??

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
