RSS

Weekly Writer’s Workshop

22 Jan

Here are the prompts courtesy of Mama Kat.

1.) I recently read all about the importance of us bloggers developing an “Elevator Pitch” via one of my new favorite blogs. According Wikipedia an Elevator Pitch is “an overview of an idea for a product, service, or project. The name reflects the fact that an elevator pitch can be delivered in the time span of an elevator ride (for example, thirty seconds or 100-150 words).” Create one short (a sentence long) and one longer (100 – 150 words) Elevator Pitch describing what your blog is about.

The Short Version:  My blog is like me, a work in progress.

The Long Version:  The the purpose of my blog is somewhat muddled, and therefore a work in progress.  I think that I don’t want a lot of attention, I blog for me, to relieve stress, document life as a working Mom, practice writing to improve my skills….etc..  The problem is, I find myself checking stats more than I’d like to admit, hoping that maybe this week I’ll get a few more comments than the last.  I’m a closet comment whore. 

2.) The strangest dream ever…

Talking about dreams is not super easy for me.  As I’ve gotten more (ahem) mature, and being a high-stress kind of gal, I’ve been had some real doozies lately.  I can’t decide, you pick. 

1.  I’ve been trapped in a house full of endless rooms and hallways,  I’m frantically trying to find my way out but, Frankenstein is chasing me and waving a semi-automatic.  Frankenstein is purple.

2.  A creature oozes out of a light socket in Technicolor, and solidifies into a creature that looks like a carrot with arms and legs.  It drives my son’s toy car around the house.  

3.  I’ve had endless dreams where I’m at work and all my teeth start to fall out and I can’t hide it.  My teeth usually stick out at all sorts of odd angles, or turn really awful colors before falling out. 

4.  I was visiting my friends in Canada recently, I dreamt that a complete stranger was stooped low over the bed, yelling loudly for me to get up and get out.  Our friends’ home is rumored to be haunted, so that one I’m not so sure about one. 

5.   The dream opens with me heading to my childhood home, arriving to an empty house joyfully realizing that Mom is not only alive, but healthy.  Given that the house is empty, I’m not sure how I know this.  I wander about, most of the furniture is missing, random scraps of paper are blowing around in the breeze, which isn’t possible because all the doors and windows are closed.  A few cardboard boxes are scattered here and there.  I realize, without talking to anyone, that my parents have packed up and moved without telling me.  I have no idea where they have gone, and have no hope of finding them. 

3.) Write a list of 10 things that can be done to stave off boredom.

In no particular order:  write, run, read, garden, call a friend, pick zits, paint toenails, shop, draw, play Farmville. 

4.) “How many homes have you had? Write a journal entry about ALL the places you’ve called ‘home’ in your life.”

I’ve lived in 4 houses that I call home. 

  • My parents built their first and only home when I was about 2.  I moved out when I was 18.  My Dad still lives there, and I visit as often as I can.
  • My husband and I purchased our fist home, when we’d been married for about 3 years.  It was small, and dated.  We quickly discovered a mutual love and ability to renovate.  Unfortunately our neighbors weren’t so great, one of them had a habit of beating up his girlfriend and may have been dealing pot.  He ran through our back yard to evade the police one night.  We moved soon after.
  • We moved into a much larger, brand new home that had zero personality, a box with windows.  It was a blank slate, perfect for putting our own touches on, and for filling with kids.  The kids idea turned in to one kid, one of our neighbors was completely bonkers, our houses were much to close for comfort.  We also lived on a busy street.  I had visions of James dashing in to oncoming traffic, only to be kidnapped by our loony neighbor.  Up the For Sale Sign went.  We sold in a week, and came out quite nicely.
  • Our last, and hopefully final house, is smaller than the last, and sits on 5 wooded acres.  Is loaded with personality; funky but not over the top and has wonderful views.   We have lots of privacy and regularly see lots of critters, coyote, deer, racoon, eagles.  The only noise is the neighborhood goat who regularly ‘talks’ to a turkey- loudly.  We’ve traded a busy street for predators of the Wild Kingdom variety, but I love it here.   

5.) “Why wouldn’t they just start over? Write a story where a character refuses to go back to square one.”

I’ve run out of steam and this post is long enough.  I’m going to bed to have a good dream tonight.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2010 in Weekly Writer's Workshop

 

2 responses to “Weekly Writer’s Workshop

  1. Pammie

    January 24, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I thought that I was the only person in the world who had psychotic dreams. You may have me beat. I regularly dream about zombies, wolves, and tornadoes.

    Like

     
    • lizgizzy

      February 1, 2010 at 4:25 pm

      I do have some odd dreams. Those were some of the few that were fit for public consumption.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
