RSS

Scare

27 Nov

Yesterday started out like every morning.  At about 8:00am I woke up, rolled over and snuggled in a little deeper, thoroughly enjoying my pillow, while listening for James to start stirring on the monitor.  Sure enough I heard Jame’s sweet voice, he sounded sleepy so I let him stay in bed a little longer. When he started yelling that he was AWAKE, I headed downstairs. 

Once James realized that he didn’t have to go to school he bounced out of bed and headed into the bathroom.  James did his business, chattering the whole time, giddy that it was Thanksgiving.  Nothing seemed out of place, until James turned around.  HE HAD BLOOD IN HIS EAR!  Not a little blood, a lot of blood, it was crusted from the canal to the outer edge.  

Historically I’ve been very calm during emergencies, I’ve help a bicyclist with sever head trauma while waiting for an ambulance, there was gore and blood, but that guy was a total stranger.  Sure his brains were leaking out of a hole in his forehead and both his ears were bleeding, but that was stranger brains and blood.  Based on this experience, I know what blood in the ear can mean so naturally I lost my mind because this was my one and only.  Tim on the other-hand was calm, cool, and collected, which I was less than patient with.   At Tim’s very reasonable request I called the nurses line, and was with maddening calm, was told it could be an ear infection or A FRICKEN’ SKULL FRACTURE…which I ALREADY KNEW!    James said that he’d fallen at school and bumped the side of his head, so the nurse advised a trip to the emergency room.  

Being that it was Thanksgiving morning, the emergency room was pretty empty and we got right in.  The doctor saw us very quickly which I expected because my SON HAD BLOOD COMING OUT OF HIS EAR.  Turns out that he most likely had a middle-ear infection, he was bleeding from around the tube.  This was and wasn’t a huge surprise.  Before James turned two, he’d had a ton of ear infections.  Right before he had tubes, he’d been on medication for months.  If he didn’t go on medication he’d get crazy fevers- one was 106.5, honest to god.   Since he’s had the tubes in, he’s been ear infection free until now. I guess it is possible to get an ear infection with tubes.  He is now on medication and it is like nothing ever happened. 

The day before Thanksgiving I thought I was thankful….I’m thankful, grateful, and all the other words ending with ful that I can’t think of right now.   James is sitting on the floor building Duplo “things to make damage” and asking his Daddy and I if we are ready to “play damage but not people, we are hunters”, he has no idea how relieved his Dad and I are that he is OK.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2009 in Doin'

 

3 responses to “Scare

  1. mrsmouthy

    December 1, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I got tears in my eyes reading this–that is so scary!! You make my trip to the ER sound like going to Chuck E. Cheese! Glad James is okay. He must be really tough to be bleeding from an ear infection yet never complain that it hurt…

    Like

     
  2. Elizabeth

    December 1, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Croup actually scares me more than bloody ears. He was acting so normal, and he never complained that it hurt. When they have croup they look and sound terrible.

    Like

     
  3. Amanda

    December 1, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    I’m so happy James is ok and I’m thankful that I found ths blog to keep updated on your family!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
