RSS

Ouch

13 Oct

I live in a household primarily inhabited by men, being in the minority means that toilet seats are usually left in the up position. Being a capable gal, I can put the seat down by myself. I don’t mind usually, frankly there are bigger battles; I just get a little cranky when I forget, and fall in during nighttime trips to the bathroom. Well evidentially Karma is female and doesn’t really care about my opinion on the subject.

Now that my son is a “big boy”, I’ve been trying very hard to let go of my tendency to hover. This means that I let him play on the deck with minimal supervision, or walk down the driveway to the shop alone, while I watch out a window, without him knowing. I know, I have a long way to go…but THINGS CAN HAPPEN!

Last night I practiced my non-hovering skills. James asked to take a bath and I told him to get ready by undressing and going potty, while I took care of some laundry downstairs. He dutifully trooped into the bathroom, and started to get ready, while l put laundry into the washing machine while listening with my bat-like supermom hearing. Roughly 30 second in, James starts crying hysterically. “That’s what I get for trying not to smother my child with hovering,” I thought as I rushed up the stairs to find him, sans pants, shuffling towards the stairs, tears streaming down his cheeks. The dreaded had happened.

I was tearfully informed that the toilet had bitten him, and sure enough there was an angry red mark across his tenders. James likes to reach across and touch the seat, or giggle the handle when he goes and I think he might have pulled the lid down. Anyway, there was lots of hissing through clenched teeth as I dutifully checked “the area.” I had visions of crushed grapes, but checking made him giggle, and a cool bath soothed the pain away. By the end of his bath James was his usually self, i.e. super upset about having to go to bed. But at least he had forgotten about the toilet lid pinching his privates. Note to men of all ages, Karma likes the seat down.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2009 in Doin'

 

14 responses to “Ouch

  1. mrsmouthy

    October 21, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    That…is…AWESOME!!!! You need to send this post to everyone you know!

    Like

     
  2. lizgizzy

    October 22, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I’m glad you liked it!

    Like

     
  3. Robin

    June 30, 2011 at 3:13 am

    ouch….
    poor guy

    Like

     
  4. lbddiariesl

    June 30, 2011 at 4:53 am

    Oh love that last sentence! So true – women should NEVER have to deal with falling in the toilet. It’s just… WRONG! Visiting via SITS!

    Like

     
  5. Jamie

    June 30, 2011 at 4:54 am

    LOL! Ok, sorry about James, but that is such a funny story! Love it! Thanks for sharing your blog today on SITS!

    Like

     
  6. Susan in the Boonies

    June 30, 2011 at 6:31 am

    Karma is kranky!

    Happy SITS day!

    Like

     
  7. Melanie Kushner

    June 30, 2011 at 9:43 am

    hysterical! though not in the moment i’m sure…

    Like

     
  8. Jennifer

    June 30, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I had my husband install a seat in the kids’ bathroom that goes down slowly. I don’t know the technical term for it. I just know it prevents squashed willies.

    Like

     
  9. Kristin

    June 30, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Okay… but what does karma do for the bigger boys that don’t put the lid down lol… It truly doesn’t bother me either, as long as they lower the downstairs (main) toilet lid.

    Like

     
  10. giannarae

    June 30, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I am so not ready to have my boys go potty standing up!

    Like

     
  11. MJ Scott

    June 30, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    Karma must really be a woman!!! That is one of the funniest things I have read and at the same time I am cringing for your son. Poor guy!!!!

    Like

     
  12. Torrey Shannon

    July 1, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    As a Mom of three boys, I can totally relate to this story! Great job in relating the dangers in a very humorous way. 🙂

    Like

     
  13. Cecilia @ Parenting Controversy

    July 11, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    I love the last sentence too, well said.

    Great tip from Jennifer too on the device to prevent squashed willies… perfect for those who don’t want karma teaching their little boys painful loo lessons.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
