RSS

Done Deal

09 May
Well- I wasn’t entirely sure that I could do it but I did.  I walked 60 miles last weekend for the Susan G. Komen Walk for the Cure.  The weather was perfect, balmy, almost too warm at times.  But what a weekend to spend most of it outside.   I have a few sore muscles and a couple of really big blisters, but other than being tired and endlessly hungry, I feel pretty good.  I do feel a larger sense relief and accomplishment.  I mean 60 miles over 3 days is a lot of walking, and it hurt really really badly.  But I did it, and I didn’t cheat, I didn’t cut through parking lots, or ride in the sweeper vans, I walked every mile.  Luckily I had a good friend with me, and being with 3500 other people made it so much easier.  Volunteers that circled the route chearing us on, and random people honking helped too.  Thank God for the Cow Ladies, you know who you are XOXOX.  After meeting a few other walkers, I decided that I had very little reason to moan about being tired and not feeling well.  One lady, walked on crutches and is a breast cancer survivor.  One lady had just been diagnosed.  The stories were amazing, sad, uplifting….What an amazing experience.  I just have to decide if I’m going to do it next year.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 9, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
